Remarkable! (A Podcast)
Remarkable! (A Podcast)
Happy Birthday to America! (and to Me)
9
0:00
-22:54

Happy Birthday to America! (and to Me)

Mark Goode turned 70! | Ep. 21
9

Today, as I celebrate my 70th birthday, I reflect on a cherished memory and share some thoughts on our great nation.

When I was nine, my dad gave me an unforgettable birthday gift—a night flight over Dallas in a small Cessna 172. The city lights glittered like diamonds below as we soared through the darkness. But the true highlight was circling above the Cotton Bowl Stadium, witnessing fireworks from above. Born on the 4th of July, my birthday has always been intertwined with America's celebrations.

Today, America faces deep divisions, but history shows we've always overcome challenges. From the 60s civil rights movements and the Cold War fears to fears about foreign and domestic terrorists, we've emerged stronger. Civil debate and understanding our neighbors are key.

As I enjoy my birthday with family, I remain hopeful for our country’s future. Together, we can make America even better.

Share Remarkable! (A Podcast)

Discussion about this podcast

Remarkable! (A Podcast)
Remarkable! (A Podcast)
Great stories move us, inspire us, and open us up to a world of possibilities. At ReMarkable, I share great stories from the people who lived them.